Scholarships & Tuition Waivers

The JoAnn Seghini Community-Engaged Learning Scholarship

The JoAnn Seghini Community-Engaged Learning Scholarship is a scholarship for students who are interested in civic engagement and serving our community while they pursue a degree at SLCC. Community-engaged learning is an important education strategy that integrates meaningful community service with instruction and reflection to enrich the learning experience, teach civic responsibility, and strengthen communities. It is for this reason that we have dedicated a scholarship to the legacy of Mayor Seghini, an extraordinary community leader and champion for all.

Salt Lake Community College is Utah’s most diverse institution of higher education. The service-learning program started in spring 2004 in the Thayne Center for Service & Learning (now the Thayne Center for Student Life, Leadership, and Community Engagement). In summer 2015, the service-learning program moved to Academic Affairs, to the Office of Learning Advancement under the Provost and in 2017, we officially became the Engaged Learning Office. Since then, we have taken on other high-impact practices at SLCC and changed the name service-learning to community-engaged learning to speak to the reciprocal nature of our work in 2021. This scholarship will support SLCC students in developing a lifelong commitment to civic engagement and community-engaged learning in the name of Mayor Seghini.

With support from amazing community partners, Brigitte Dusserre Klement, longtime friend of JoAnn Seghini, established the JoAnn Seghini Community-Engaged Learning Scholarship in 2020. Students who earn this award commit to completing two community-engaged learning courses during the academic year they receive the scholarship to an approved organization whose mission aligns with the work of Mayor Seghini. The JoAnn Seghini Community-Engaged Learning Scholarship will be offered to students through the Engaged Learning office. Preference will be given to students who would like to dedicate their service to an organization within the Midvale community.

Awarded students will present a summation of their civic engagement service project at the annual Engaged Learning Celebration. Scholarship supporters will be invited to attend this special event.


  • The Boys and Girls Club
  • The Road Home
  • Midvale Senior Center
  • Midvale City Government
  • Catholic Community Services
  • Utah Humane Society
  • Family Support Center
  • Utah Community Action
  • Intermountain Healthcare
  • Utah Department of Air Quality


Dr. JoAnn B. Seghini grew up in a family dedicated to community service as her father was the Midvale City attorney for many years and both parents were heavily involved in community activities. JoAnn loved school. When she graduated from Jordan High school a year ahead of schedule, and entered the University of Utah at 16 under an early admission scholarship from the Ford foundation, she originally intended to go into medicine. Following her first year of college, she had the opportunity to work with kids in a summer camp. This experience lead her to the realization that she needed to be a teacher, as she felt she had such a dramatic impact on the kids she worked with.  She earned a B.S. degree in elementary education, an M.A. degree in curriculum development, and a Ph.D. in Education Psychology.

She loved her 36 year career with the Jordan School District. For 12 of those years, she taught kindergarten through sixth grade at Union Elementary School, Lark Elementary School, and Bella Vista Elementary School. For an additional 24 years, she worked in administration. Upon her retirement, she was the Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Staff Development.

JoAnn was a titan. After serving for four years on the Midvale Planning Commission, she became the first woman in Midvale to be elected to a public office and served three terms on the Midvale City Council. JoAnn was a fierce advocate of public education who brought positive change in everyone and everything she touched. Her genuinely inclusive spirit set an example which made it possible for many people to have access to food and shelter.


She is served in the following capacities: President of the Salt Lake County Council of Governments; member of the Wasatch Front Regional Council; member of the Utah Department of Air Quality Board; member Board of Directors of the Utah League of Cities and Towns; and appointed by the Governor to the Utah Substance Abuse and anti-violence Coordinating Council and member of the Board of Trustees of the new Jordan Itineris Charter High School. She was Chairman of the 3 R’s Board, which is an educational group working to teach responsibility and respect for the rights of others. She acted as Chairperson of the Board of the Utah HealthCare Institute. She served as a member of the Salt Lake Valley Health Department Board and the Board of Trustees for Intermountain Health Care. She also serves on the Olene Walker Housing Loan Fund and the Utah Commission on Literacy.
Join us in celebrating Dr. JoAnn Seghini’s outstanding legacy which demonstrates  her inclusive philosophies, tenacious attitude, vision for more livable communities, and her keen sense of community development.

Applications open August 1 to September 1

Special thanks to the community partners who are making this award possible:


Community-Engaged Learning Tuition Waiver

If you've taken a community-engaged learning designated course, have completed your community-engaged learning project, and have showcased it on your ePortfolio, please consider applying for the community-engaged learning tuition waiver. See the rubric for this tuition waiver.


Engaged Learning Celebration Tuition Waiver

Scholarship Opportunity Available:
Spring Award - Applications Open Oct. 1 - Nov. 14
Fall Award - Applications Open Nov. 15 - March 1
Submit your ePortfolio or Community-Engaged Learning Project for a chance to receive a tuition waiver!
Apply Now!

Winners will present their service project on their ePortfolio at the annual Engaged Learning Celebration. Check out these outstanding ePortfolio’s from previous winners!

Ashlen's ePortfolio:

Karrie's ePortfolio: